2015 FIFA Women's World Cup: Complete Schedule

Photo by Frederic Stevens/Getty Images

(TORONTO) — The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup will kick off on June 6 and runs through July 5.

The tournament — the largest single sporting event for women on the planet — will be played in six host cities across Canada.

The United States, a two-time World Cup champion and one of the favorites to win this year’s tournament, will play its first game on June 8 against Australia.

The USA will also face Sweden on June 12 and Nigeria on June 16. The U.S. previously won the World Cup in 1991 and 1999.

The final will take place July 5 in Vancouver.

Here is the complete schedule:

Group A:

June 6

Canada vs. China

New Zealand vs. Netherlands

June 11

China vs. Netherlands

Canada vs. New Zealand

June 15

Netherlands vs. Canada

China vs. New Zealand

Group B:

June 7

Norway vs. Thailand

Germany vs. Ivory Coast

June 11

Germany vs. Norway

Ivory Coast vs. Thailand

June 15

Thailand vs. Germany

Ivory Coast vs. Norway

Group C:

June 8

Cameroon vs. Ecuador

Japan vs. Switzerland

June 12

Switzerland vs. Ecuador

Japan vs. Cameroon

June 16

Ecuador vs. Japan

Switzerland vs. Cameroon

Group D:

June 8

Sweden vs. Nigeria

USA vs. Australia

June 12

Australia vs. Nigeria

USA vs. Sweden

June 16

USA vs. Nigeria

Australia vs. Sweden

Group E:

June 9

Spain vs. Costa Rica

Brazil vs. South Korea

June 13

Brazil vs. Spain

South Korea vs. Costa Rica

June 17

Costa Rica vs. Brazil

South Korea vs. Spain

Group F:

June 9

France vs. England

Colombia vs. Mexico

June 13

France vs. Colombia

England vs. Mexico

June 17

Mexico vs. France

England vs. Colombia

Round of 16:

June 20-23


June 26-27


June 30-July 1

Third Place:

July 4


July 5

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.


This article was written by ABC News Radio from ABC News Radio and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.